It’s been a year since I first started my Travel Bucketlist, and being halfway through my year abroad, it’s a good time to check back in and see what I’ve seen and what’s left to see.

Ticked off

Prague was undoubtedly a beautiful city, and the weather we got was phenomenal. My lasting image of our visit was a gorgeous orange sunset framing the black statues lining the bridge. Proud to have visited and excited to go back.

  • Scandinavia

Technically, I have been to Scandinavia, but ticking off an area is not as simple as a country. I went interrailing and visited Copenhagen, Oslo, Stockholm and Helsinki, thinking it would give me a good summary of the Scandinavian area. Never mind the fact that Finland isn’t actually a Scandinavian country, the scope and size of Denmark, Norway and Sweden are so huge that it isn’t fair to say that Scandinavia has been ticked off and sorted. I’m especially keen to spend more time in the dramatic countryside that I spied through the window of high-speed trains nipping from city to city.

Although I was only there for a day, my expectations of this city were completely fulfilled. I love the coast, I love the chilled atmosphere of the city, I love the independent shops hidden down every flower-lined street. It’s certainly on my list for future visits and even potentially relocation after graduation.

New editions

  • Vienna

Being currently located in Munich, Vienna is one of the closest European capitals that I still haven’t visited on my year abroad, but I’m definitely determined to. Dozens of other people in my year have been, and the reviews and photos are gearing me up for a great weekend away.

Still to see

  • Amsterdam

I will confess, this isn’t inspired by the culture of Amsterdam, the plight of Anne Frank, or the cycling, or even the lenient drug policies. I read The Fault In Our Stars and I want to see that bench. Don’t judge.

  • Canada

Toronto, Vancouver, Montreal – I wanna catch them all here. I imagine that it’s like America but cleaner? I look forward to proving or disproving this theory.

  • Egypt

I want to go into a pyramid. That is the entirety of my expectations – everything else will be a happy extra. Apologies for reducing an entire culture to a geometric shape.

  • Singapore

Many friends of mine have lived there, it seems to be the exotic relocation destination of choice for Surrey families. Having missed my chance to visit any of them, I am determined to visit as a happy tourist.

  • Japan

Cherry blossoms, Pokemon stores, and literally a world so different to my Western habits that I feel like I’ll want to stay for a long time.

  • Beijing

I saw it in the Olympics, now I want to see it in person. I’m intrigued to see what a world without social media is like.

  • Iceland

Ever since a Geography project in Year 9 (still waiting to get mine back Mrs Jones, just saying), I’ve been trying to persuade my family to go but my dad’s hatred of the cold and lack of golf courses has prevailed. Now however I am (technically) an adult, so I am resolved to take myself. The pros of responsibility, Cons: I have to pay for it myself.

  • Edinburgh

I really want to go to the Fringe. A British festival of young creative talent? Perf. Sign me up.

To revisit.

They’re too good to only go to once. Or even four times like the US. Or live there like Ireland. Maybe I’m just being greedy.

  • Ireland

I lived there for a brief seven months, but, being only 6 years old, stayed pretty close to home, leaving only to go to the beach or school. I’m dying for a road trip across both Northern and Southern Ireland. British and Irish landscapes are seriously underrated, and you don’t have to worry about weird animals that might kill you. I’m looking at you Australia.

  • The US

I’ve seen New York, Chicago, Washington, San Francisco, Santa Monica, Santa Barbara, LA, Vegas, Yosemite, the Grand Canyon… and I’m not done. I want Texas, Boston, the central states, and I want to go back to all the places I’ve been to before. Except LA. Overrated.

  • New Zealand

Queenstown is potentially one of my favourite towns in the world and I can’t wait to go back and revisit Fergburger. Here’s hoping that they do veggie. But, as an LOTR fan, I want to include the north in my visit this time round. I’m small enough to be a hobbit – I want to go to Hobbiton. Someone make it happen.

